Cooking Close- ups, Continued

I love when I go grocery shopping and everything I buy is healthy, delicious, raw, and so colorful/ beautiful. Snapped a few pics of some favorites. Anyone wondering if vegans live on a diet of leaves? Not at all true. Of course, there are plenty of vegans who eat a diet (ironic to call it that) of pop-tarts, potato chips, oreos, and french fries; all of which happen to be free of animal products and by- products, but of course are extremely unhealthy and contain nasty chemicals/ additives, not to mention shortening, sugar, and bleached white flour. Also, many vegans primarily eat meat and dairy substitutes, which I agree are fun to have on occasion (almondmilk yogurt is a personal favorite), but these also tend to contain a shocking amount of chemicals and additives, and I just like fresh food better, so I tend to avoid those as well! When I talk about eating vegan, for me this means eating a hefty amount of vegetables and fruits, and my diet contains a lot of nuts/ nut butters (natural of course! as in, no added oil/ sugar.. not talking about organic or anything) and legumes (beans!!). And of course I love oats and some hearty grains as well. Anyways, here are some snaps of some diet staples, as well as a delicious homemade sauce I made for some company (served with whole wheat spaghetti), and of course salad! I wish I would’ve gotten a picture of the sauce before I blended all the tomatoes/ peppers/ vegetables/ basil leaves together… ever heard of eating the rainbow!? 😉

Quinoa. Such a superfood.

Image

Medjool dates.. insanely decandent and caramel-y… the perfect sweetener and a staple in raw- vegan desserts! 

 

 

Image

 

 

tiny fraction of yesterday’s haul

Image

 

Raw brownies! first time making these with actual medjools, and maple syrup not agave… very delicious 🙂

Image

before.. 

Image

.. and after 

Image

and the tomato sauce! recipe here: http://deliciouslyella.com/the-best-tomato-sauce-vegan/Image

Idk if I made enough..? 😉 Even with company still had plenty of leftovers!

Image

Image

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

